10 Reasons Some Women Are Wearing Veils in Church Again | ChurchPOP

Source: 10 Reasons Some Women Are Wearing Veils in Church Again | ChurchPOP

More on the subject of veiling, which I have discussed here on the blog previously…

“Not that long ago, Christian women always covered their heads at church, and now many are choosing to once again. While lots of women are going the route of the chapel veil, others are choosing things like hats, scarves, or stylish headbands.”

Not long ago indeed — and not just in a Catholic or other liturgical / sacramental Church context, either. I was born in 1965, grew up Methodist, and both my grandmothers as well as my mother always wore hats (or occasionally scarves) in church. In any case, their heads were covered. It was simply considered the seemly thing to do!

As regards St. Bede’s, as I have always said, I encourage women of the congregation to prayerfully consider whether or not they might find themselves called by God to “veil,” whether that means an actual veil (chapel veil or mantilla), hat, scarf, etc. It’s a matter of conscience, not doctrine, but I do know some women find it helpful to their spiritual practice.

Author: The Anglophilic Anglican

I am an ordained Anglican clergyman, published writer, former op-ed columnist, and experienced outdoor and informal educator. I am also a traditionalist: religiously, philosophically, politically, and socially. I seek to do my bit to promote and restore the Good, the True, and the Beautiful, in a world which has too-often lost touch with all three, and to help re-weave the connections between God, Nature, and humankind which out techno-industrial civilization has strained and broken.

Leave a Reply

