Le Pen: Pope ‘Asks that States Go Against Their Own People’ by Opening Borders

French presidential frontrunner Marine Le Pen has criticised the Pope for pressuring Western countries to open their borders to migrants, accusing him of asking states to disregard their own citizens.

Source: Le Pen: Pope ‘Asks that States Go Against Their Own People’ by Opening Borders

In an interview with La Croix International, the leader of the Front National chided Pope Francis for asking “that states go against the interests of their own people by not placing conditions on the acceptance of significant numbers of migrants” …

“To me, this falls within the realm of politics and even interference, since he is also a head of state” – e.g., the Vatican: “a walled city-state with some of the strictest immigration and citizenship rules in the world.”

Asked about her own religious views, Ms. Le Pen said: “I have a strong faith and I am fortunate in that I have never doubted it. However, I admit that I am angry with the Church because I think that it interferes in everything except what it should really be concerned with,” she added.

Vive la France! Vive Mme Le Pen! Au nom du peuple!

Author: The Anglophilic Anglican

I am an ordained Anglican clergyman, published writer, former op-ed columnist, and experienced outdoor and informal educator. I am also a traditionalist: religiously, philosophically, politically, and socially. I seek to do my bit to promote and restore the Good, the True, and the Beautiful, in a world which has too-often lost touch with all three, and to help re-weave the connections between God, Nature, and humankind which out techno-industrial civilization has strained and broken.

Leave a Reply

