Briefly noted: “About the Anglophilic Anglican” updated, and my Patreon account

Friends, please note that I have recently updated my “About the Anglophilic Anglican” page. The changes are not major, but you may still want to take a look if you haven’t visited recently: hyperlinks have been added, and some of the text has been revised or amended.

Please note also that this page takes a great deal of time and effort to maintain and update with what I hope is interesting and thought-provoking content, and that I do this on a volunteer basis, while still working for a living. It would be very greatly appreciated if, should you enjoy or appreciate what you read here, you would be willing to visit my

Patreon Account – “A Defense of Western Christendom”

and make a donation or become a Patron. I would be very grateful for the support. My goal is to eventually be able to devote the majority of my time to the fight to defending our Western civilization – a.k.a. Western Christendom – and its cultural as well as spiritual heritage. I can only hope to accomplish that with your support! My most grateful appreciation on advance.

Yours most respectfully,

The Anglophilic Anglican

Percentage of Europeans Who Are Willing To Fight A War For Their Country – Brilliant Maps

The map above shows the percentage of residents in various European countries who are willing to fight and go to war for their country.

Source: Percentage of Europeans Who Are Willing To Fight A War For Their Country – Brilliant Maps

I am generally a very peaceful person. It takes a good bit to move me to anger, and more yet to move me to violence. In particular, I am willing to shrug off, for the sake of peace and tranquility, many offenses against me, personally – as my dear late mother used to say, “consider the source.” Most offenders are not worth my time and effort!

That is not to say that I am merely passive, however, or that I cannot be provoked:

But if I am relatively forgiving of offenses directed toward me, I am less sanguine with respect to assaults directed toward people I love, care for, or who are under my protection. I am also much quicker to take offense to attacks on ideals I believe in, and places I value.

Sadly, that is not a viewpoint which seems to be shared by many Europeans. If this study, based on a 2015 WIN/Gallup International global survey, is accurate, it seems that most citizens of most European countries do not care enough about their own nations, people, and the history, heritage, and traditions they share to be willing to fight to preserve them.

Is it any wonder that outside invaders, from Islamic jihadists to economic opportunists, are leaping to take advantage of this weakness? Here is the breakdown, by percentage and country, from the largest number of willing defenders to the least. I find it not only sobering, but depressing, disillusioning, and downright scary for the future of Europe, and of Western civilization.

  • 74% – Finland (“Hakkaa Päälle!“)
  • 73% – Turkey
  • 62% – Ukraine
  • 59% – Russia
  • 58% – Kosovo
  • 55% – Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • 55% – Sweden
  • 54% – Greece
  • 47% – Poland
  • 46% – Serbia
  • 41% – Latvia
  • 39% – Switzerland
  • 38% – Ireland
  • 38% – Macedonia
  • 38% – Romania
  • 37% – Denmark
  • 29% – France
  • 28% – Portugal
  • 27% – United Kingdom
  • 26% – Iceland
  • 25% – Bulgaria
  • 23% – Czech Republic
  • 21% – Austria
  • 21% – Spain
  • 20% – Italy
  • 19% – Belgium
  • 18% – Germany
  • 15% – The Netherlands

This bodes not well for the future, to put it mildly!

If there is any consolation, it is in the knowledge that, by some estimates, as little as 10% of the population of the American colonies was passionate about independence, prior to the Revolutionary War. More came on board later, but probably never more than 30% of the population was passionate about liberty and independence. Large numbers are not always what is needed; commitment is what is needed. But the figures are still, as I say, extremely sobering…

Note: “Hakkaa Päälle!” – my comment, it was not in the original list – translates roughly to “Hack them down!” or “Cut them down!” God bless the Finns.