Update / follow-up to “Heroic ‘Wren’ wins Military Cross”

Warning:

Don’t read this if you want to keep your nice, warm glow on.

Continue reading “Update / follow-up to “Heroic ‘Wren’ wins Military Cross””

Heroic “Wren” wins Military Cross (UK) for exemplary courage under fire

Source: 100 Year Challenge | Facebook

I post (rather sadly) a lot of fairly depressing stuff on here, mainly because there’s a lot of depressing stuff happening, and people need to know about it: awareness is the first step toward change.

But it’s nice to every once in a while be able to post a “feel-good” piece, and this is one:

Imagine choking on your own blood, dying in the Afghan sand, and as you glance up for what may be the last time, you suddenly seeing this 5-foot-nothin’ vision – a veritable angel in human form – sprinting through heavy machine-gun fire and exploding rockets to save your life!

As the linked post puts it,

“‘I promised my friends and comrades I’d be their medic,’ she said. ‘I promised I’d be there if they ever needed me. They needed me that day – so when the call came, that’s just what I did.’

“Kate, from Whitleigh, Plymouth, stepped into the history books as only the second woman to be awarded the MC [Military Cross], one of Britain’s highest gallantry awards, as well as becoming the only MC Wren…

“Her citation read: ‘Under fire and under pressure her commitment and courage were inspirational and made the difference between life and death.'”

[Note: “Wren” is the popular term for a member of the Women’s Royal Navy Service (WRNS —> “Wrens”), a service which dates back to 1917.]

The linked post notes that “her smile is disarmingly sweet,” which seems no exaggeration from this picture! As a female friend of mine put it, “Competent, brave, AND adorable.” Indeed: I would also say, as my mother used to say of herself, “little but mighty”!

I actually had to create a new tag – “Courage and Valor” – to give this story, and this heroic individual, the prominence she deserves!