It’s Science: Eat Dinner Together – The Family Dinner Project

article-2392981-1b4a3950000005dc-227_634x403

As a family therapist, I often have the impulse to tell families to go home and have dinner together rather than spending an hour with me.

And 20 years of research in North America, Europe and Australia back up my enthusiasm for family dinners. It turns out that sitting down for a nightly meal is great for the brain, the body and the spirit. And that nightly dinner doesn’t have to be a gourmet meal that took three hours to cook, nor does it need to be made with organic arugula and heirloom parsnips…

Source: It’s Science: Eat Dinner Together – The Family Dinner Project – The Family Dinner Project

I was blessed to enjoy dinners with my family nightly through my entire childhood and much of my young adulthood. I’ll admit, I did not always give them the attention they deserved; but even at the time, I enjoyed them far more often than otherwise, and looking back, I miss them – a lot. Nice to see research backing up something I intuitively value! As it turns out, eating dinner together is good for the mind, body, and soul…